Berkeley County Schools

Excellence is in the AIR

 

WHO WE ARE

Read Aloud Berkeley County is the local chapter of Read Aloud West Virginia, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to motivating children to want to read. The goal is to inspire a life-long love of reading that will enrich their lives and serve as a foundation for learning.Read Aloud offers programs in public education, book distribution, volunteer readers and classroom enrichment. Working in cooperation with Berkeley County Public Schools, Read Aloud placed trained volunteer readers in more than 195 classrooms, reaching thousands of students in 21 primary, elementary, and intermediate schools during the 2015-2016 school year.

OUR VOLUNTEER READERS
As of the end of the 2015-2016 school year, more than 160 trained volunteers were reading to Berkeley County students in prekindergarten through grade 5. They are welcomed into the classrooms each week as friends, and form bonds with the students (and teachers) as they share their love for reading with young people.Those interested in becoming Read Aloud volunteers are asked to take part in one 60- to 90-minute orientation/training session before being placed in a classroom. Training sessions are scheduled throughout the year, and will be announced in local news media and on the Read Aloud page at www.berkeleycountyschools.org.  If you are interested in becoming a Read Aloud volunteer, or have any questions about the program, contact any of the local board members.
 
READ ALOUD BERKELEY COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS:
Marsha Dodson (county chair) -- 304-261-0354, madgauthier@hotmail.com
Ellen Turner (school coordinator liaison) -- 304-671-2000, eturner@k12.wv.us
Bob Fleenor (publicity) -- 304-267-4899, cbflee@frontier.com
Dana Phelps (volunteer reader trainer) --  phelpswv1@frontier.com
Candace Smith (secretary) -- csmith@k12.wv.us
Ashley Adams -- 304-419-0465, ashley@wvnpa.org
Joyce Ashworth -- jaashworth@k12.wv.us

SCHOOL COORDINATORS (2016-2017):

Back Creek Valley Elementary -- Lauren Bigham, 304-229-1975, letherington@k12.wv.us
Bedington Elementary -- Chininnia Devor, 304-433-6834, fairmaiden503@yahoo.com
Berkeley Heights Elementary -- Lynda Mills, 304-267-3520, lmills@k12.wv.us
Bunker Hill Elementary -- Jennifer Smith, 304-229-1980, jdrogers@k12.wv.us
Burke Street Elementary -- Charles Printz Jr., 304-264-4222, cprintz@bowlesrice.com
Eagle School Intermediate -- Tina Swift, 304-616-6286,  jcbuckmark@msn.com
Gerrardstown Elementary -- Penny Shade, 304-229-1985, pjshade@k12.wv.us
Hedgesville Elementary -- Nicole DeMarco, 304-754-3341, nbuffington@k12.wv.us
Inwood Primary -- Colleen Shipley, 304-229-1990, cshipley@k12.wv.us
Marlowe Elementary -- Wendy Gregory, 304-274-2291, wgregory@k12.wv.us
Mill Creek Intermediate -- Sara McMillen, 540-620-5414, smcmille@k12.wv.us
Mountain Ridge Intermediate -- Tonya Sperry, 304-279-6599, tsperry@k12.wv.us
Opequon Elementary -- Karen Deaner, 304-671-3067, kdeaner@k12.wv.us
Orchard View Intermediate -- Annette Beard, 304-263-4143, arbeard@k12.wv.us
Potomack Intermediate -- Jeannine Anderson, 304-274-2912, Paya4123@hotmail.com
Rosemont Elementary -- Demi Lewin, 304-267-3560, dlewin@k12.wv.us
Spring Mills Primary -- Jennifer Crayne, 304-657-8463, jencrayne@gmail.com
Tomahawk Intermediate -- Abby Bennett, 304-671,6292, ajbennett@k12.wv.us
Tuscarora Elementary -- Ellen Turner, 304-267-3565, eturner@k12.wv.us
Valley View Elementary -- Jennifer Wolf, 304-229-1970, jwolf@k12.wv.us
Winchester Avenue Elementary -- Megan Everhart, 304-267-3570, mcrider@k12.wv.us

CALENDAR OF EVENTS:

Sept. 27 -- Orientation/training session for new readers, Tuscarora Elementary School, 2000 Tavern Road, Martinsburg, 6 p.m.
Sept. 28 -- Orientation/training session for new readers, Berkeley County Senior Center, 217 N. High St., Martinsburg, 10 a.m.
Sept. 28 -- Orientation/training session for new readers, Tomahawk Intermediate School, 6665 Hedgesville Road (W.Va. Route 9), 6 p.m.
Sept. 30 -- Back Creek Valley Elementary Back-to-School Picnic, 5:30 p.m.
Oct. 8 -- Read Aloud Day, Books-A-Million, Martinsburg Commons shopping center. Read Aloud volunteers will be reading to children throughout the day. Books-A-Million will donate a portion of its sales that day to Read Aloud West Virginia.
Oct. 19 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
Nov. 16 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
Jan. 18 -- School coordinators winter meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 4 p.m.
Jan. 18 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
Feb. 15 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
March 15 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
April 26 -- School coordinators spring meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 4 p.m.
April 26 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
May 17 -- RA Berkeley County board meeting, Tuscarora Elementary School library, 5 p.m.
 
NEWS ABOUT READ ALOUD:
Read Aloud attends state conference: http://bit.ly/1UjxaYZ
Attorney volunteers in Read Aloud program: http://bit.ly/1pOx27u
Children participate in "Family Literacy Night": http://bit.ly/1UjxSWk

LINKS:

Read Aloud West Virginia: http://readaloudwestvirginia.org/
Read Aloud Berkeley County (Facebook page): http://www.facebook.com/readaloudberkeleycounty
ReadAloudBerkeleyWV (Twitter): http://twitter.com/RAWVBerkeley
Martinsburg-Berkeley County Public Libraries: http://martinsburg.lib.wv.us/
Campaign for Grade-Level Reading: http://gradelevelreading.net/
International Children's Digital Library: http://en.childrenslibrary.org/
100 Greatest Books for Kids: http://www.scholastic.com/100books/
Notable Children's Books - 2016: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncb

 
  
 

 
 
CLOSE